Pesto

Everyone around me was getting sick including my husband. He was sick for three days and it didn’t  touch me..so I thought to myself.. YES this vegan thing is working for my health!

but i spoke too soon.

During my nightshift I felt a tickle in my throat and then as soon as I came home it became a full fledged body chilling, throat clogging, nose plugging, migraine-causing flu. It was one nasty virus. I had no energy. The sleep deprivation from the nightshift didn’t help. Resting was uncomfortable due to the pain and so was staying up.
I did whatever I could. I had ginger tea, lemon tea, ate beans, leafy greens, soup, lots of water, and did whatever I could to nourish/replenish my body, get sleep (took melatonin) and after one day of craziness I recovered! I am passed the deadly stage and now still have some sniffles leftover but my energy is back.

And thank you to my wonderful mother-in-law who made a whole bunch of soup and korean food for us. 🙂 Made my life much easier.

So I’ve passed the halfway point in my 30 day vegan challenge. It’s been 17 days. Time is going by a lot faster than I expected. I admit I am definitely missing my meat and dairy.

At this point after the 30 days my hope is for an increased repertoire of vegan recipes and knowledge around healthy eating and decrease my consumption of meat and dairy. And when I do eat meat it will be meat from Heritage Meats. http://www.heritagemeatsgourmet.com/

I will not be drinking straight up milk. I will continue to drink almond milk. And occasionally, I must say I have a weakness for cheese..I might just have to indulge in some real cheese and cheese pizza and jalapeno poppers. mmm

Nevertheless I am discovering many ways vegans are substituting many ingredients such as avocado for butter in baking, or nutritional yeast for parmesan, etc.

So I made a version of vegan pesto sauce.

First I made my own parmesan by grinding 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast and 1/3 cup of almonds in a food processor. You can make more and just keep in the fridge.

Then I added 2 cups of cilantro (I would’ve added basil but couldn’t find any), 1/2 cup of pine nuts, 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/2 tsp of sea salt, some lemon juice and mixed it all in my handy dandy ninja food processor.

IMG_20130117_211809

Time to make some late-night pesto pasta!

I am back with a picture of my pesto pasta.

IMG_20130117_234958

Leave a Reply

