Back on track Salad

So I’ve been off the vegan challenge now for a few days and it’s been two days now of major migraine headaches and feeling groggy throughout the entire day. I actually used to get migraine headaches  frequently during nursing school and then still here and there even after I finished school. However I never once felt this way during the vegan challenge except when I got the flu. In fact one of the biggest changes I experienced while I was on the vegan diet was mental clarity and alertness.

Yesterday was awful. I felt super groggy and the pain from the migraine was unbearable. I tried to nap it off but that didn’t work either.

Whether it’s food related or not, I feel like I need to get back on track with eating right. I let myself go a bit over the weekend. So I made myself a nice big bowl of salad yesterday.

In fact it’s called ‘Back on track wheat berry and bean salad’
http://ohsheglows.com/2010/12/28/back-on-track-wheat-berry-and-bean-salad/  

IMG_20130205_184532IMG_20130205_184847

Wheat berries are whole wheat kernels (includes the bran, germ, and endosperm). They are filled with nutrients because it hasn’t been stripped off and you cook it like rice. I didn’t know what it was so I had to look it up. If you grind them up they become whole wheat flour!

Leave a Reply

